Virginia Driving Laws
There are many rules that can cause a person to lose their license, lose their security clearance or lose their freedom.
Some of the different rules that a driver has to pay particular attention to are:
Most traffic ticket convictions will result in points on your record. The DMV monitors the number of points. on your record. Accumulate too many points. and the Division of Motor Vehicles will administratively suspend your privilege.
Certain law violations are classified as a class 1 misdemeanor. A class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious misdemeanor crime. This means a Reckless Driving Ticket. or a DUI is as serious as a Possession of Marijuana charge or Assault & Battery, etc.
If you are charged with violating one or more of the different driving rules , contact the Law Offices of SRIS P.C. lawyers for help.
Our attorneys have defended thousands of clients of clients charged with violating one or more of the different driving violations stated above.
The following are some of the questions clients ask us about the different driving rules ?
Are all on criminal offenses?
How many rules are there about speeding,?
For all the trfc violations, are the monetary penalties the same?
Are all the trfc rules listed in the VA Code?
What is the law regarding driving without a license?
What is the law on driving with a suspended license?
What are the rules and penalties?
Do the different drvn’g law changes affect me?
The following are some the :
§ 46.2-870. Maximum speed limits generally.
Except as otherwise provided in this article, the maximum speed limit shall be 55 miles per hour on interstate highways or other limited access highways with divided roadways, nonlimited access highways having four or more lanes, and all state primary highways.
The maximum speed limit on all other highways shall be 55 miles per hour if the vehicle is a passenger motor vehicle, bus, pickup or panel truck, or a motorcycle, but 45 miles per hour on such highways if the vehicle is a truck, tractor truck, or combination of vehicles designed to transport property, or is a motor vehicle being used to tow a vehicle designed for self-propulsion, or a house trailer.
Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this section, the maximum speed limit shall be 70 miles per hour where indicated by lawfully placed signs, erected subsequent to a trfc engineering study and analysis of available and appropriate accident and law-enforcement data, on: (i) interstate highways, (ii) multilane, divided, limited access highways, and (iii) high-occupancy vehicle lanes if such lanes are physically separated from regular travel lanes. The maximum speed limit shall be 60 miles per hour where indicated by lawfully placed signs, erected subsequent to a trfc engineering study and analysis of available and appropriate accident and law-enforcement data, on U.S. Route 29, U.S. Route 58, U.S. Route 360, U.S. Route 460, and on U.S. Route 17 between the town of Port Royal and Saluda where they are nonlimited access, multilane, divided highways.
§ 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.
A person shall be guilty of reckless who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
If you get a driver’s license in Virginia, it means that you know all the driving laws. Having a license means you know where to stop the vehicle, when to drive and what to do when you see a certain road sign. You need to follow all the Virginia driving laws when you are on the road. Breaking these laws will get you in a lot of trouble.
While driving a car or any other vehicle in Virginia, you should know when to stop your vehicle. You must top it when you are at a stop sign or red traffic lights or the red flashing lights. It is the basic which everyone knows. You should also stop the car when you are at a railroad crossing with flashing signals. You should stop when a traffic flagger signals to stop. Always stop for the pedestrians crossing the street at a crosswalk. Always stop whenever the police officer asks you to stop the car. If you do not do so, you will be guilty of a class 4 felony, which can end up in life sentence or death. Always stop at the scene of a crash in which you are involved. Make sure that you also stop when entering a street or parking lot. If you fail to follow these laws, you will receive a ticket.
As a driver, you should know all the traffic signs. You should know all the road signs. You should also know the lines on the road. For example, if you have a broken yellow centre line in the middle of the road, it means you can pass on the left side in either direction if the way ahead is clear. Similarly, if the road has a double yellow solid line, it means passing is not allowed. You need to know all these driving rules and regulations before you go on the road. You should never drive in the lane which has a red “X” mark. You should also follow the flaggers. These are construction workers who wear orange shirts. Not following the flaggers will also end up having a ticket. Make sure that you follow all the driving laws. If by any chance you are facing charges for a traffic offence, you should hire a traffic lawyer.
The speed limit in Virginia on various roads is different. For example, on an interstate highway, you can go up to 70 Mph. The speed limit in Virginia on the public highway is 55 Mph. The speed limit on the unpaved road is 35 Mph. The speed limit in the bossiness, school or residential areas is 25 Mph. These are a few Virginia driving laws which you should know. You must take a driving test and have driving classes. Also, taking help from a Virginia traffic lawyer is a great idea. These lawyers will also explain the laws. You can get in trouble if you do not know the traffic laws. Make sure that you do not get yourself in trouble on the road.