Driving Without Insurance in Henrico Virginia

In Henrico Virginia, you are obligated to purchase an auto insurance, which meets the minimum coverage requirements. The minimum coverage requirements in Henrico Virginia include $25,000 for a physical injury or death of a single person, $50,000 for physical injury or death of two or more individuals, and $20,000 for a property damage. Driving without insurance in Henrico Virginia is against the law and can be punished by different ways based on the circumstances. Henrico Virginia allows you to drive without insurance for a defined period of time, if you have selected to pay $500 as a fee for driving uninsured motor vehicle (UMV). If you are caught while driving without insurance in Henrico Virginia and you have not chosen to pay the $500 fee for driving an uninsured motor vehicle, you will be charged with a class 3 misdemeanor and will be required to pay the fine of $500. In addition to the fine, you may also lose your vehicle registration, license plates and driving privilege. The court can also order you to maintain a proof of insurance certification for a period of three years for driving without insurance in Henrico Virginia.

The department of motor vehicles (DMV) keeps a track of insurance coverage of vehicle through an electronic program for insurance verification. In case DMV finds out that you have been driving without a proper insurance coverage, you will be charged for a Class 3 misdemeanor for directly failing to surrender you license plates and driving without insurance knowingly. The only exception in the scenario will be provided if the vehicle registration has been deactivated. In case there is no record of liability insurance available, you will have a grace period of 30 days for the submission of proof of insurance. Failing to do so will result into a fine. You can face even more serious punishments in case you fail to provide a valid proof of active insurance, on the request of a patrol officer, at a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident. For every traffic violation, where you do not have a proper insurance coverage or have not paid the UMV (uninsured motor vehicle) fee, you will be charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor. A charge for a Class 3 misdemeanor in Henrico Virginia means that your driving privilege and vehicle registration, both will be suspended and a maximum fine of up to $500 can be imposed. If you are convicted for a Class 3 misdemeanor, you will be obliged to pay a $500 fine, buy an auto insurance in Henrico Virginia in order to restore your driving license and vehicle privileges.

If you have been found to be driving without insurance in Henrico Virginia, and you have not paid the UMV fee, the Henrico Virginia legislature states that you must be granted an administrative trial before you can be punished or your driving privileges are suspended.